RAVEREVIEWS

 

7.1.2017 | Comment from Julian Gregory, Tenor, The King’s Singers

On behalf of us all in The King’s Singers, thank you so very much for co-commissioning our 50th Anniversary piece by Nico Muhly.

We cannot wait to see you all at The Choral Project again in April 2018 and work on another collaborative performance together, which, like last time, will no doubt be great fun and a very rewarding experience. Fingers crossed for our luggage to arrive on time this time…!

Please pass on our warmest regards to everyone at The Choral Project, and have a great summer! Best wishes from London.


2.20.2017 | Comment from Rachael Myrow, South Bay Arts Reporter, KQED

THANK YOU. That was a glorious concert!


2.19.2017 | Email from Dave Grishaw-Jones, Senior Pastor at Peace United Church of Christ

Just a quick word of deep thanks—for The Choral Project’s offering at Peace United on Saturday!

The Choral Project reminds us that hope draws its deepest breath from great music. Your presentation of STREET REQUIEM was a deep dive into the pain and sadness of poverty and homelessness, but also a determined cry for compassion and justice. No sermon, no scholarly paper could have made such a case, with such urgency and beauty. Again, The Choral Project has used great choral music to call out our best angels and invite our community to a better way, a way of kindness and generosity and human decency.

Thanks for doing that right here at Peace United!


2.16.2017 | Email from Reverend Liliana DaValle, Pastor at Grace Baptist Church

[T]he musical quality and professionalism of The Choral Project and the soloists were superb! But besides that, the content of the work touched my inner most feelings. It was deep, heavy, overwhelming. As you know, at Grace Baptist Church we work with the homeless everyday. This piece was a great confirmation of our calling. Thank you!


9.12.2016 | Email from Richard Seago, retired choral professional

I am a retired choral professional, and will probably spend the rest of my days doing what I do best and love: scouring the Earth for the most beautifully recorded pieces of choral music that I can find. Whenever a piece is added to my song list I like to send a note of complimentary thanks. Please know that your recording of the well known Dello Joio piece, “Come to Me, My Love” as found on iTunes recently, has to be the most beautiful performance of this piece that I have ever heard.


6.6.2016 | Email from Mac Huff, arranger of Summertime, commissioned for The Choral Project

Congrats to the Choral Project for an amazing concert yesterday…. First class choral singing all the way. I’m so honored and moved with the performance of my arrangement of “Summertime”. I hope every composer/arranger gets to hear their music recreated so beautifully. Thanks for your artistry and lovely singing.


4.10.2016 | Email from Joshua Shank, composer of Rules to Live By, commissioned for The Choral Project

My heart is full…The Choral Project gave a stunning premiere of their newly-commissioned work, “Rules to Live By,” based on their own words. I’ve admired their recordings for legit a decade, and to be asked to help them celebrate their 20th anniversary was a deep honor. Congrats to the singers and to the audience for having such a local treasure. Thanks, TCP!


4.10.2016 | Email from Alice Hughes, Choral Director, Pacific Collegiate School

The Choral Project just performed a wonderful and moving program. The two commissioned works that were premiered were particularly inspiring. “Rules to Live By” composed by Joshua Shank moved me to tears. The lyrics written by members of The Choral Project finished the statement, “I believe…”. If we all could embrace even a handful of these “I believe” statements into our lives, the world would be a very different place.


4.10.2016 | Email from Joyce Keil, Artistic Director, Ragazzi Boys Chorus

Thank you again for your concert. I am going to try to come to all of them. Finally a chorus that blends, sings in tune and with emotional honesty. Bravo big time.


2.26.2016 | Email from Chris Bruerton, Baritone, The King’s Singers

On behalf of The King’s Singers, I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for hosting us so marvelously in San Jose. We were so impressed with the preparation of the singers and our thanks must go to Daniel and his team for making that happen… It would be lovely to return in the not too distant future, perhaps even in 2018 when we celebrate our 50th anniversary.


5.7.2015 | Email from Dr. John Orlando, Artistic and Executive Director of Distinguished Artists Concert & Lecture Series

“Your performance of Chiaroscuro in Santa Cruz recently was musical perfection. We thoroughly loved it.”


4.29.2014 | Email from Joshua Shank, composer of Spring based on Sara Teasdale’s poem There Will Come Soft Rains

“It’s such a moving poem and I can only imagine how beautiful the Choral Project must sound on it. You all are truly one of America’s great choirs and I love every time I’ve had the great fortune to have a piece of mine on one of your programs.”


1.30.2014 | Charles Frost, Tour Director for the Santa Clara Vanguard

“I was blown away by the choir! Truly inspiring and amazing.”


1.28.2014 | Chuck Daellenbach, founding member of the world-renowned Canadian Brass

“From the brilliant choral work to the inspired selection of music, Artistic Director Daniel Hughes proved to be a skilled colleague. This was a collaboration we will be hoping to soon repeat!”


2013 | Kirke Mechem in support of Daniel Hughes’ 2013 Artist Laureate Award

“I was so impressed with this outstanding chorus that they were my first choice when I was asked by the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) to pick any chorus in the country to present a 50-year retrospective of my works.”


2013 | Nationally known composer and arranger Mac Huff in support Hughes’ 2013 Artist Laureate Award

“He has built an amazing group of singers who are setting new artistic standards in the choral music field.”


12.16.2012 | Email from Michael Touchi, composer of Buen Shabbat/Ocho Kandelikas, performed at Winter Gifts: Light

Daniel, I couldn’t find you after the concert tonight, but I wanted to thank you for all the work on Buen Shabbat/Ocho Kandelikas. The choir was amazing and I appreciate the attention, life and fun they gave to the piece. I also wanted to congratulate you for your own piece.. it’s gorgeous. I sat there tonight, just enjoying being taken on a beautiful musical journey. Bravo. (I’m thinking that many choirs will be wanting to perform that work.)

Please express my heartfelt thanks and congratulations to everyone in The Choral Project. Magnificent music-making!

All my best for a happy season,
Michael Touchi


04.29.2012 | Review by Michael Tierra from Peninsula Reviews

The performance … by the San Jose Choral Project can only be described in superlatives – transporting, sublime, transcendental.”

Every program by Daniel Hughes and the Choral Project is special, but after having heard them many times, Saturday evening’s program at Holy Cross Church literally soared to a new high, carrying mind and spirit upwards with music by three of the greatest living choral composers, Arvo Part (b. 1935), John Taverner (b. 1944) and Eric Whitacre (b. 1970).


12.23.2011 | Email from Ben Allaway, composer of Pacem

Good gravy, what a stunning ensemble you have! In every way one can be moved– the smallest nuance which the entire ensemble effects as one; the vibrant tone and unity of approach in each section, no rogue tenors or sopranos attempting to steer the rest; musicality; joy evident in the sound, which means they have permission (from you, to your credit) to really throw themselves into it, and their talent and sense of mission is so deep that they can do so without fear of breaching the choral aesthetic.

Thank you for this lovely Christmas gift, Daniel.

Peace,
Ben


12.19.2011 | Email from Joshua Shank, composer of A Christmas Carol and Musica animam tangens:

Wow, Daniel. Just. Wow.

That was one of the most moving performances of a piece of my music that I have ever heard. I am so grateful you asked me to undertake that journey and live with that piece [A Christmas Carol] again. I love love love it, Daniel! I don’t know how you pulled it off but, for some reason, between the end of the piece and the applause you can actually “hear” the audience listening. I’ve only ever felt this one other time when I heard a live recording of Karen Thomas and the Seattle Pro Musica’s live version of “winter.”

Thank you so much for this wonderful Christmas present and I look forward to thanking you in person some time in the future. You are such a wonderful collaborator! Please tell your fellow collaborators in the choir and orchestra that they have my heartfelt thanks for the work they did to bring that piece to life.

Ongoing thanks,
Josh


12.18.2011 | Email from Neil Ginsberg, composer of The Garten Mother’s Lullaby:

“So awesome! Made my day!…..week!…..okay, year!

I loved the balance between the choir, strings and pipes. It was about all the elements coming together without overwhelming each other and I thought you did a great job with yet. Beautiful playing and expressive singing. You have a wonderful choir that really “gets it”.

Please extend my thanks to your musicians! What a wonderful opportunity this was for me!”

Best wishes,
Neil


11.5.2010 | Email from Jonathan Willcocks, composer of Musical Risotto:

“By chance (actually because my 11-year-old was on the net prying into what her Daddy gets up to!), I happened to see your extremely entertaining performance of my work ‘Musical Risotto’ on YouTube recently. You entered into the spirit of the piece exactly as I hope that choirs should (and not all do) and I thought that the projected text also added greatly to the overall effect.

One small problem though – my 11-year-old daughter now wants to know what the musical term ‘ffing‘ at the end means…”

Bravo to you all and best wishes,
Jonathan Willcocks


6.9.2007 | Email from Kirke Mechem, composer of Blow Ye the Trumpet

“I love this choir…I always have and always will.”


10.2.2007 | From San Jose Mercury News

“There’s nothing subtle about why this is one of the best-sounding choirs you’ll ever hear.”


6.6.2005 | Email from Stephen Schwartz, composer of Kéramos (written specifically for The Choral Project)

“I just was blown away…I thought the choir was so terrific. And I liked the adventurousness of the music.”


From our many fans:

“My partner Bruce McKenzie and I are from Canada.  Bruce is an Organist and I am a choral singer currently with The Vancouver Men’s Chorus. I am sure you have heard every complimentary thing ever thought up describing your choirs lovely blend, and the competence of the individual men and women’s choruses. It is all true.  I have to tell you I haven’t enjoyed a choral concert like this for years…it was exciting and everyone one in the choir looked as if they just LOVED singing. I do want to say something you also probably get a lot of but I have to say it anyway.  Daniel you are with out doubt one of the most gifted choral conductors I have ever seen.  It must be a joy to sing under your precise leadership. I enjoyed the evening tremendously and will watch for future concert opportunities to experience The Choral Project.”

“Thanks for coming to Palm Desert …”YOUR SOUL IS SONG!”  and your song is magic.”

“How can the choir keep getting better with each performance, when each performance is near perfection?”

“In a word, EXCEPTIONAL!”

“Incredible tone, articulation, phrasing, musicality, better than 90% of most choral concerts.”

“…a riveting experience!”

“My God, what a marvelous choir. You went way beyond notes and words on the page to something vastly more spiritual and meaningful! In my fifty-four years on this earth, I’ve SELDOM heard that heart touching musical message. Bravo!”

“I’ve not experienced such terrific programming in a choral program.”

“…never heard a group which seemed so committed to what they were singing – who really meant what they were singing.”

“A soul-lifting experience.”

“I am so grateful to be able to expand my musical horizons, with your help.”

Sponsored, in part, by a grants from the Office of Cultural Affairs - City of San Jose, SVCREATES and Applied Materials Foundation, and generous support from First Republic Bank.